Scout: 8-Song Demo, ca. 1995

Scout: 8-Song Demo, ca. 1995


1. Mosquito
2. Day Before Yesterday
3. Plague Dogs
4. Baretta
5. Longline
6. Breathcatches
7. Cottonmouth
8. I’ve Never Dreamed Someone Like You Could Want Someone Like Me

Delighted to discover that Ashen Keilyn, a/k/a Scout is still in the game, oh so many years after their attorney, the formidable Matt Kaplan, got this fantastic demo tape into my hands. Here’s the early story from Allmusic:

Scout began in the early ’90s after vocalist/guitarist Ashen Keilyn and drummer Nigel Rawles decamped from Michigan, headed east to New York City, hooked up with locals Rimas Remeza (bass) and Steve Shiltz (guitar), and began gigging around town. Area indie Deep Elm took notice and issued Scout’s debut 7″ in 1996. “Plague Dogs” was dream pop roughed up by Replacements influences, yet steadied by Keilyn’s unique voice, which sometimes suggested a less strident Patti Smith. Scout jumped to Chrysalis for the 1998 EP Someplace Would be Nice and returned a year later with the full-length Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time; it was the best example yet of Scout’s charming alternative pop. Remeza and Shiltz departed in the midst of the touring and promotion for Idea, and when Scout returned with October 2003’s This Soft Life, they were as a trio. New guitarist Brian Silverman helped refine and at times toughen Scout’s sound, and Life was hailed as Keilyn and the band’s strongest, most accessible performance to date. That autumn, the trio embarked on Scout’s first nationwide tour.

And then…not much, for nine years, when Scout returned with 2012’s well-received All Those Relays. Quite a few years have again passed without an album, but I won’t judge.

This demo includes that first single, “Plague Dogs”; the flip, “Breathcatches”; “Day Before Yesterday” from the Chrysalis EP, plus five more songs that will have you wondering why you’re only hearing them now. Truly one of the great unknown recordings of the ’90s.

Scout’s playing at St. Vitus in Greenpoint, Brooklyn, this Thursday. Maybe I’ll go, and give her the cassette back!

Scout: 8-song demo, circa 1995

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *